

## **Eastern Border Transportation Coalition**

#### 2014 Fall Workshop Ontario Investment and Trade Center 250 Yonge St. 35th Floor Toronto, Ontario

## "Envisioning the Border of the Future"

#### Tuesday, September 16

# 9:00 Welcome and opening remarks Derek Deazeley, Director, Strategic Policy & Transportation Economics Branch, Ontario Ministry of Transportation 9:15 Importance of Efficient Canada – U.S Border Crossings Moderator - Kris Wisniewski, Executive Director, Eastern Border Transportation Coalition AnnMarie Schneider, Director, Institute for Public Policy and Social Research, Director, Canadian Studies Center, Michigan State University Dr. Daniel Lynch, Director, Centre for International Trade and Transportation, Dalhousie University 9:45 **Provincial/State Perspective** Moderator – Sara Moore, EBTC Co-Chair, Michigan Department of Transportation Laura Mester, Chief Administrative Officer, Michigan Department of Transportation Robert Sharpe, Director of Design, New Brunswick Department of Transportation 10:30 Break 10:45 **Federal Perspective** Moderator - Dave Henry, EBTC Co-Chair, Quebec Ministry of Transportation Jim Dickmeyer, U.S. Consul General in Toronto Douglas George, Canadian Consul General in Detroit

11:30	Border Agency Perspective
	Moderator - Dave Henry, EBTC Co-Chair, Quebec Ministry of Transportation
	Ann Marie Paul, Assistant Director for Trade, U.S. Customs and Border Protection, Buffalo
12:00	Lunch (provided)
12:30	Gord Brown, MP Leeds-Grenville, Canadian Co-Chair, Canada-United States Inter-Parliamentary Group
1:00	Private Sector Modal Perspectives
	Moderator – Lynn Weiskopf, New York State Department of Transportation & EBTC Board
	Jennifer Fox, Vice-President, Ontario Trucking Association
	Anne Legars, Vice- President, Shipping Federation of Canada
	Paul Kerry, Business Development Manager - Ontario, Canadian Pacific Railroad
2:00	Break
2:15	Stakeholder Perspectives
	Moderator – Lynn Weiskopf, New York State Department of Transportation & EBTC Board
	Mark Fisher, CEO, Council of the Great Lakes Region
	Mathew Wilson, Vice-President, National Policy - The Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters
	Mark R. High, President, Canada – United States Business Association
	Daniel D. Ujczo, Of Counsel, Dickenson Wright PLLC
4:00	EBTC Strategic Plan
	Dave Henry and Sara Moore, EBTC Co-Chairs

4:30 Adjourn